Skip to content

Making Æbleskiver with Grete

September 12, 2011

There has been a challenge on the table, so to speak, for TeamPhotoBlog for a week or so now: document and share a recipe from start to finish (with a minimum of five photos). Truth be told, I’ve started it at least three times. The first recipe I was really excited to share was a new one that involved pickling. Is this a good time to mention I don’t even LIKE pickles? What on earth was I thinking picking that as my topic? Well, I was thinking I could score points with mom and dad because we had access to the monster nearly overripe cucumbers that are necessary for a specific type of Danish pickle you can’t buy here. It went great for about 75% of the recipe, at which point the esteemed Mr. Murphy popped in for a spell as my sous chef. Everything that could go wrong for that last 25% went spectacularly wrong. The next day I tried to salvage what was left of the “pickles” by vamping and turning them into a relish that had most of the same core ingredients I’d started with. By then, I was mostly determined to not waste an entire batch of cucumbers & three days of work. But what I said above about pickles goes doubly for relish. I think it might actually be good, but it’s patiently waiting in the beautifully canned mason jars until I can pass them off to the friend who actually likes relish. (Hi Chad!)

So last week when we were on a family visit, and had the opportunity to spend the day in the kitchen with mom making the quintessential Danish treat from two family heirloom recipes, I decided the pickle debacle had probably been a blessing. What follows is a recipe for æbleskiver (which translates from Danish into “apple pieces” even though there aren’t any apples in them), a pancake-like treat that my mom got from my dad’s mom on one of their last visits.

photos, recipe and more of Grete in action after the jump…

Farmor’s Æbleskiver

  • 250 grams flour
  • 90 grams butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/2 dl lukewarm milk
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp lukewarm water
  • grated peel of one small lemon

melt the butter

dissolve the yeast and sugar in the lukewarm water

add yeast mixture to the butter and milk

lightly beat the eggs together

mix flour and salt, then alternately add milk/butter/yeast mixture and eggs to the flour. whisk until batter is smooth

let rise in a warm place for an hour (the oven with just the light on works great)

If you are me and my sister, spend the next hour outside checking out her tadpole hatchery

When you come back inside, wash your hands and take the risen batter out of the oven

watch while mom preps the æbleskiver pan with oil (or melted butter, or, she says, better yet: lard)

each hole is filled with batter

and as they brown, are turned with a knitting needle

until a golden brown ball of scrumptious results

and they are pulled off the pan

put into a bowl

and eaten! (shown here with our homemade rhubarb rosemary jam)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    September 14, 2011 1:14 pm

    Yummy. Can you mail some to me please?

    • September 14, 2011 1:22 pm

      I’d love to! not sure how they’d hold up though…. (in a pinch, trader joe’s sells a version directly imported from DK that’s ok. They’re in the freezer section. They aren’t Grete’s, that’s for sure, but if you don’t have time (or the pan) for that, they are a reasonable facsimile.)

Trackbacks

  1. Field Trip: Middlebrook Farm (Three Oaks, MI) « after the (farmer's) market…

Leave a Reply

